IORAS was started in 1991 by Prof. A. DEVADOSS, MBBS., FRCS (Edin), FRCS (Glasg), M.Ch., (Ortho) Liverpool, FIMSA, AOAA., D.Sc (Honoris Causa), first at the premises of Chenthil Nursing Home and from 01.01.2008 it was shifted to DMH which is 110 Bedded Multi Speciality Hospital.

A brief profile about the Director Prof. A.Devadoss:-

After completing MBBS from Madurai Medical College by securing Gold Medal for being the topper in his batch, he went to UK for Post Graduate Studies in 1961 and obtained the dual Degress of FRCS (Edinburg) and FRCS (Glasgow) in the same year 1964 and in 1967 obtained M.Ch., Ortho (Liverpool). After 23 years of meritorious and Conscientious Service at Madurai Medical College, he retired as Professor of Orthopaedics from Madras Medical College in 1990. He started IORAS in 1991 as its Director and Chief of Orthopaedics.The first batch of Post Graduates came out successful in 1994 and as on date (2011) a total of 50 Post Graduates have completed their training under Prof.A. Devadoss, out of whom 36 Post Graduates have come out successful and obtained their Degree of Dip.N.B.(Ortho) which is equivalent to M.S.Ortho. Four Dip.N.B.students from IORAS passed successfully in 2006 and 2009 which is 100% pass. Under the brilliant tutelage, IORAS stands First in the Nation with respect to pass percentage. In 2002 one of the trainees Dr.Chiniwal Chandrasekhar Bassettappa and in 2009, Dr.S.V. Anil Kumar stood All India First and were awarded Dr.Balu Sankaran Gold Medal in DNB Finals.

Prof.A. Devadoss held the positions of

  • 2009-2007Chairman

    at Education and Community Development (South), A.O. Foundation, India
  • 2008-1998President

    of Shoulder Society of India
  • 1995-1994President

    of Indian Orthopaedic Association
  • 1991President

    of Tamil Nadu Orthopaedic Association
  • 1984 Visiting Professor

    at University of Cincinnatti USA

His achievements have been recognized locally, Nationally and Internationally and the following are a few of the prominent awards obtained.

1.“National Educational Excellence Award,”
Presented by Hon'ble Union Cabinet Minister
Mrs. Menaka Gandhi
2.“Best Citizen of India 2000”
By International Publishing House, New Delhi.
3.“Great Win Awards 2000”
By the Tamilnadu Cultural Academy.
4.“Millennium Achiever Award”
For outstanding Services, Achievements and Contributions in the field of Orthopaedic Surgery and Traumatology
By the International Institute of Success Awareness
5.“Jewel of India”
By the International Institute of Education Management, New Delhi.
6.“Orthopaedic Excellence Award”
By the Head, Panel of Selection, Committee, AIIMS, New Delhi.
2003 - 2004
7.“Man of the year in Medicine and Health Care”
For outstanding contribution to Medicine and Health Care as recognized by the American Biographical Institute.
8.“D.Sc. (Honoris Causa)”
By the Tamil Nadu Dr.M.G.R. Medical University, Chennai
Award presented by the Hon'ble Governor of Tamilnadu, and Chancellor of Dr.M.G.R. Medical University, Thiru.Surgit Singh Barnala.
9.“Certificate of Honour As Distinguished Professor of Tamilnadu Dr.M.G.R. Medical University”
For the Meritorious Services rendered to the Medical Profession.
By Prof. Mayil Vahanan Natarajan, Vice Chancellor, Tamilnadu Dr.M.G.R. Medical University.

Do you want to visit our hospital? Make a free appointment!